What it pays
The award value is stated as $20,000 (Renewable). The number of awards is stated as 2.
The official text does not break the $20,000 down into instalments, nor does it state whether the amount is applied to tuition, fees or living costs. It also does not say whether the award is paid in Canadian dollars. Applicants should confirm these details with the provider.
Renewal conditions
The award is renewable in the second, third and fourth year at the University of Calgary, provided recipients achieve a GPA of 2.60 or more over a minimum of 24.00 units in the previous fall and winter terms and continue to pay an international differential tuition fee as an international student.
Two things in that condition matter for a Nigerian applicant. First, the 24.00 units refers to University of Calgary units taken in the fall and winter terms, not to credits already earned at a Nigerian university or secondary school. Second, renewal depends on continuing to pay the international differential tuition fee as an international student, so a change in fee status would affect eligibility.
Who can apply
The official text describes the award as being for international students who are required to pay international tuition fees and who are not Canadian citizens or Permanent Residents of Canada. The required criteria list the student type as Undergraduate, the faculty as Any, the year entering as 1st, and the citizenship/residency as International.
The award text does not list eligible nationalities beyond the category "international students". It does not name Nigeria, Africa or developing countries. A Nigerian applicant would fall within the international student category as described, but the page does not confirm country-by-country eligibility, so applicants should check with the University of Calgary before relying on this award.
Level and subject
The level is undergraduate, entering first year. The faculty is listed as Any, so the award is not restricted to a particular subject or degree programme on the face of the official text.
How to apply
The application route given is the My UCalgary Portal: High School Prestige Awards. The official text does not state a deadline, a required essay, a reference requirement or a separate application fee.
Because the award is tied to admission, a Nigerian applicant should treat the admission application and the award application as connected steps. The English Language Proficiency requirement is mentioned as something the student must have satisfied, so evidence of English proficiency should be prepared alongside the award application.
What to prepare
- Admission to a first-year undergraduate degree at the University of Calgary for the upcoming fall term.
- Satisfaction of the university's English Language Proficiency requirement.
- Access to the My UCalgary Portal, where the High School Prestige Awards application is made.
- Academic records showing academic merit, which is the stated required criterion.
- Confirmation of international fee status, since the award is for students required to pay international tuition fees and who are not Canadian citizens or Permanent Residents of Canada.
What the award does not cover
The official text does not state that the award covers tuition in full, living costs, travel, health insurance, books or any other expense. It states a value of $20,000 and that it is renewable. Anything beyond that is not given on the page.
Points to check with the provider
The official text does not give a deadline, so no deadline can be quoted here. It does not state whether the award can be held with other scholarships. It does not state the currency of the $20,000. It does not give a contact address for the scholarship office. Applicants should confirm these points directly with the University of Calgary Office of the Registrar or Enrolment Services before submitting an application.