Masters Arts & Humanities Scholarships Open to Nigerian Students 2026-2027

We list 12 masters Arts & Humanities Scholarships Open to Nigerian Students, with the deadline, study level and eligibility of each one taken from the award's own terms. 7 of them are fully funded. Most are held in China (4), Australia (2) and Canada (1). Awards with a known closing date are listed soonest first.

Share
12scholarships
7fully funded
44days to next deadline
12say Nigerians can apply

Also open to any subject

These awards do not restrict the field of study, so arts & humanities applicants can apply too.

About this list

Masters Arts & Humanities Scholarships Open to Nigerian Students, explained

Written from the 12 awards on this page — every figure below is counted from what the awards themselves state. 6 min read.

What this page lists

This page collects 12 scholarships for Masters study in Arts & Humanities that are open to Nigerian students. Every award here is at Masters level, and every one of the 12 is in the arts and humanities rather than in engineering, law or the sciences.

The list is not limited to one country. Awards on this page are hosted in China, Australia, Canada, Germany, the Netherlands, Sweden, the United Kingdom and the United States. China appears most often, with four awards, followed by Australia with two. Canada, Germany, the Netherlands, Sweden, the United Kingdom and the United States each host one.

Providers named on the page include Queensland University, the University of Tasmania, Stanford University, Peking University, Shanghai Universities and Beijing Universities.

Who can apply

All 12 awards are open to Nigerian students. For one of the 12, Nigeria or the wider region is named directly in the award's own eligibility text. For the other 11, no nationality restriction is stated at all, which means the award is not closed to you on the grounds of where you were born.

None of the 12 awards leaves eligibility unstated. That matters when you are shortlisting: you are not guessing whether an award is open to you, though you still have to read each individual page for the conditions that sit alongside nationality, such as the subject, the degree class and the documents.

The route into this level is straightforward. You hold a first degree or HND — B.Sc, B.A, B.Eng, LLB, MBBS or HND — and you are applying for a taught or research masters. Awards in this collection often state a minimum class of degree. Where an award asks for an "upper second", that corresponds to Second Class Upper (2:1) on a Nigerian transcript. Whether an HND is accepted in place of a degree is decided by each university, not by this page.

What the awards pay for

Seven of the 12 awards are labelled fully funded. Two are labelled partially funded. Three do not label their funding either way, so nothing can be said here about what those three cover.

Among the benefits that awards name in their own text, living costs appear most often, named by three awards. Tuition is named by two, travel by two, and research or training costs by two. Accommodation is named by one award and health insurance by one.

Read those figures as what the awards say in writing, not as a guarantee. A fully funded label tells you the award intends to cover the main costs of study; it does not tell you the amount, and amounts on this page are mostly not stated. One award that does state a figure is the University of Tasmania Scholarship 2027 (Fully Funded), which gives a rate per annum that is indexed each January.

What the applications demand

The most common requirement across this collection is a letter of recommendation, stated by five awards. Three awards require an English test score, either IELTS or TOEFL. Three require you to hold an admission offer first before the scholarship application is considered. Two state a minimum degree class. Two ask for a research proposal. One asks for work experience.

Those requirements shape your timeline more than the deadlines do. If an award wants an admission offer first, your scholarship application cannot move until the university has processed your course application, and that queue is usually the slowest part of the process. If an award wants a research proposal, you need a supervisor conversation and a written proposal before you can submit anything.

English test waivers are worth checking award by award. Three awards state a test requirement in their own text; the rest do not state one. That is not the same as a waiver, and it is not a promise. Where a university accepts a previous degree taught in English, it will say so on its own page.

How the deadlines fall

Six of the 12 awards carry a date. Six are still open at the time of writing. Six recur, meaning the same award runs again in a later cycle. Six have no date stated on the award.

The busiest months are October and December, with two awards closing in each, followed by January with one.

Five awards close soonest:

Two of those five fall in the same month, so December is the month where you are most likely to be finishing two applications at once.

What the awards cover in time

Durations vary and are stated on only some awards. One award runs for one year and another for two years. One is described as funding up to the first year of study. One carries a note that the doctorate element runs for three and a half years with no extension available, which matters if you are weighing a masters that can lead into doctoral study.

Where a duration is not stated on the award, treat it as unknown rather than assume a length. A one-year taught masters and a two-year research masters carry very different living costs, and only the award itself can tell you which it is funding.

How to work through the list

Start with the five awards above, because their dates are the ones already in front of you. Then work backwards from the documents.

  • Order transcripts and courier them early. Recommendation letters and degree class evidence depend on your department, and departments move at their own pace.
  • Ask your referees now if an award needs a letter of recommendation, since five of the 12 do.
  • Book an IELTS or TOEFL date only after checking whether the specific award states a test requirement.
  • If an award needs an admission offer first, begin the university application before you begin the scholarship application.
  • If an award needs a research proposal, contact a potential supervisor months ahead, not weeks.
  • Confirm the degree class wording on your transcript, since "upper second" means Second Class Upper (2:1) in Nigerian terms.
  • Check whether the university accepts an HND for the programme, because that decision sits with the university.
  • Keep a single folder for each award with its deadline, its document list and its funding label.

The 12 awards on this page are a starting point, not a full picture of what is available. Arts and humanities masters funding is thinner than funding in engineering or business, so the work is in reading each award's own text carefully and matching it against what your transcript and your referees can actually produce.

Where to go next

Open each award page and read the eligibility section before anything else. Confirm three things: that the award is at Masters level, that it covers your subject, and that it does not restrict nationality in a way that excludes you. Then check the document list against what you can obtain in the time left.

If an award on this page closes before you can assemble the documents, note it and return to it in the next cycle, since six of the 12 recur. If an award requires an admission offer first, treat the university application as the real deadline and the scholarship date as the second one.

Questions Nigerian applicants ask

How many masters Arts & Humanities Scholarships Open to Nigerian Students are listed?
We currently list 12 masters Arts & Humanities Scholarships Open to Nigerian Students, of which 7 are fully funded.
Which one closes next?
Yenching Academy of Peking University Scholarships 2026 (Fully Funded) — Closes 1 December (44 days from today).