Fully Funded Masters Scholarships for Nigerian Students in the United Arab Emirates 2026-2027

We list 6 fully Funded Masters Scholarships for Nigerian Students in the United Arab Emirates, with the deadline, study level and eligibility of each one taken from the award's own terms. 3 state eligibility that includes Nigerian applicants. Awards with a known closing date are listed soonest first.

6scholarships
6fully funded
134days to next deadline
3say Nigerians can apply
About this list

Fully Funded Masters Scholarships for Nigerian Students in the United Arab Emirates, explained

Written from the 6 awards on this page — every figure below is counted from what the awards themselves state. 6 min read.

What this page lists

This page collects 6 fully funded masters scholarships in the United Arab Emirates that are open to Nigerian students. Every award here is labelled fully funded by the body offering it, and every one of the six is listed at masters level. The same six providers also appear at PhD level, so a student weighing up a research track will find the same names again further along.

The awards come from six different providers: Khalifa University, Muhammad Bin Zayed University of Artificial Intelligence (MBZUAI) in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates University (UAEU), the American University of Sharjah, the Sheikh Saud bin Saqr Al Qasimi Foundation for Policy Research, and Muhammad Bin Zaid University. That spread matters. It means you are not applying to one institution six times over. You are choosing between a science and technology university, an artificial intelligence university, a federal national university, an American-style private university in Sharjah, and a policy research foundation.

What the awards say they pay for

Read the funding lines on each award page carefully, because "fully funded" is the label the provider uses, and the detail underneath varies from one award to the next. Of the six awards on this page, 5 name tuition in their own text, 4 name accommodation, 4 name health insurance, 3 name living costs, 2 name travel, and 2 name research or training costs.

Those counts describe what the awards state in writing. They are not a promise that every element is covered on every award, and they are not a promise that a particular award will cover a particular cost for you. Where an award does not name a benefit, treat that benefit as something you need to confirm with the university before you budget for it.

One award on the page, from MBZUAI, states a monthly stipend figure in its own listing. Others state that funding varies by programme and funding scheme. Where the amount is not stated, this page does not guess at it.

Can a Nigerian applicant qualify?

For 3 of the 6 awards, the eligibility information on the award itself does not shut Nigerians out. None of those three names Nigeria or the surrounding region as a requirement, and none of them carries a nationality restriction in the text we hold. For the other three, the position is not stated on the award, which means you will need to check the provider's own eligibility page before you spend money on a transcript or a courier.

That is the honest position. A missing restriction is not the same as an open door, and it is not the same as a closed one. If you are building a shortlist, start with the three where nothing in the award text excludes you, then work through the rest.

What you need before you apply

The applications on this page ask for a fairly consistent set of documents. Across the six awards:

  • 4 ask for an English test score, IELTS or TOEFL
  • 4 ask for letters of recommendation
  • 3 state a minimum degree class
  • 3 ask for a research proposal

The degree class point deserves attention. Where an award states a minimum class, the wording is usually "upper second" or its equivalent. On a Nigerian transcript, that corresponds to Second Class Upper, the 2:1. If you are applying with a Second Class Lower, look at the awards that do not state a minimum class rather than assuming you will be screened out — but check with the department, because the final decision sits with the university and not with this page.

The research proposal requirement splits the list. Taught masters applications generally do not need one; research masters and anything attached to a policy research foundation usually do. If you are applying to the Al Qasimi Foundation, plan for a proposal.

On English tests: some universities waive the requirement where your previous degree was taught in English. Whether that applies to you is decided by the university, not by this page, so ask the admissions office directly before you pay for a test slot.

Your Nigerian qualification and how it maps

The pathway into this list is straightforward. You hold a first degree or an HND — B.Sc, B.A, B.Eng, LLB, MBBS or HND. Masters is the level these awards sit at, and they cover both taught and research masters.

Where an award states a minimum class of degree, "upper second" corresponds to Second Class Upper (2:1) on a Nigerian transcript. Whether an HND is accepted in place of a degree is decided by each university individually, and the six providers here will not necessarily answer that question the same way. If you hold an HND, contact the admissions office of the specific university before you begin an application, and get the answer in writing.

Budget for the paperwork. Transcripts from Nigerian universities take time to process and courier fees are paid by you. Recommendation letters need to be requested well before the deadline, because your referees are also busy. Start the document side at least two months before the closing date you are targeting.

Deadlines and how they fall

Three of the six awards carry a stated deadline. Three are still open at the time of writing. Three are undated in the listing, and three recur annually. The busiest months across this set are April, with two deadlines, and March, with one.

The three closing soonest are:

The remaining awards on the page run on different schedules. UAEU states that its deadline varies by programme and funding scheme, with the Fall 2026 intake opening early. The American University of Sharjah listing points you to the details for its deadline. Muhammad Bin Zaid University states a regular deadline of 15 January 2027, with a second date in May. Where a deadline is described as varying, do not treat the absence of a fixed date as extra time — it usually means the programme you want has its own calendar.

Fields of study on this page

The subject tags attached to these awards are narrow, and that reflects the providers rather than any restriction on you. One award is tagged Computer Science & IT, one Engineering, and one Natural Sciences. The remaining awards are not tagged to a single field in the listing.

MBZUAI is an artificial intelligence university, so its offering sits naturally in the computing space. Khalifa University covers engineering and the sciences. The Al Qasimi Foundation is a policy research body, which is why its listing spans master's, PhD, postdoctoral and visiting scholar levels rather than a single taught programme. UAEU and the American University of Sharjah are broad universities, and their funding schemes vary by programme.

If your intended field is not tagged here, that does not mean the provider does not teach it. It means the award listing does not name it. Check the university's own programme list.

What to do next

Work in this order. First, decide whether you are applying for a taught masters or a research masters, because that decision determines whether you need a research proposal and which of the six awards is worth your time. Second, check the eligibility text on each award for the three where the position is not stated, and get a clear answer on whether Nigerians are considered. Third, confirm the English test position with the university before you book a test.

Then start the documents. Request your transcript early, ask your referees early, and give yourself room before the March and April deadlines rather than after them. If you are targeting the Al Qasimi Foundation, the Khalifa University award or the MBZUAI award, those are the three with the nearest dates on this page, and they are the three to open first.

Read each award page in full before you apply. The funding lines, the eligibility wording and the deadline all sit on the award itself, and that is the text that governs your application — not this summary.

Guide

Scholarships in UAE for Nigerian Students 2026-2027

Looking for a fully funded opportunity to study in the Middle East’s most dynamic academic hub? The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has emerged as a top destination for Nigerian students, thanks to its world-class universities, cutting-edge research facilities, and generous scholarship programs.

For the academic year 2025-2026, several fully funded scholarships in UAE are available to outstanding international students pursuing bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees. These scholarships typically cover tuition fees, monthly stipends, free accommodation, visa support, health insurance, and in some cases, travel expenses.

The UAE is home to prestigious universities such as United Arab Emirates University (UAEU), Khalifa University, Mohamed bin Zayed University of Artificial Intelligence (MBZUAI), and American University of Sharjah, all of which offer generous funding for exceptional students.

Read the full guide

Questions Nigerian applicants ask

How many fully Funded Masters Scholarships for Nigerian Students in the United Arab Emirates are listed?
We currently list 6 fully Funded Masters Scholarships for Nigerian Students in the United Arab Emirates.
Which of these can Nigerian students apply for?
3 of them state eligibility that includes Nigerian applicants — naming Nigeria, a region Nigeria belongs to, or all countries.
Which one closes next?
Al Qasimi Foundation Scholarships 2027 Fully Funded Research UAE — Closes 1 March (134 days from today).